GSL vs. the World: Preview

  • Blizzard Entertainment

Our second WCS Global event of the year is almost underway. GSL vs. the World pits the Korean allstars against the best of all other StarCraft regions. Can the Terran terrors of Latin America score a takedown? Will soO claim his elusive 1st place in a premier tournament? Can Neeb recreate his 2016 KeSPA Cup run? Find out, with all matches streamed on Twitch.tv/GSL, or watch here live on wcs.StarCraft2.com.

 

Schedule & Venue

 
  • August 3-5 - FreecUP Studio

    • August 3, Round of 16 - 6:00 pm KST / 11:00 am CEST / 2:00 am PDT

    • August 4, Round of 16 - 6:00 pm KST / 11:00 am CEST / 2:00 am PDT

    • August 5, Quarter and Semifinals - 3:00 pm KST / 8:00 am CEST / 11:00 pm PDT(-1)

  • August 6 - Kyunghee University Peace Palace

    • Team Match and Grand Finals - 3:00 pm KST / 8:00 am CEST / 11:00 pm PDT(-1)

 

Team Competition

 

The World allstars will face the GSL allstars on a set of predetermined maps, with all eight being played regardless of score. Each GSL player will pair off against one World player, and if the score is tied after eight matches, each team will nominate their Ace player to decide which region is victorious.

 

Players will receive 1,000,000 Korean Won (~$900) for each match they win in the Team Competition, while the winning team overall will receive a bonus of 4,000,000 KRW (~$3,600)

 

The map pool will be the same as the individual competition, with two maps played twice.

 

For a look at the teams, check out our post here.

 

Individual Competition

 

The one vs. one portion of GSL vs. the World will be a straightforward 16-player single-elimination tournament. We’ll have best-of-five until the finals, when you’ll see an epic best-of-seven match. The bracket is already drawn and you can see it below:

Players will be fighting for their share of 108,000,000 KRW (~$96,000) and the pride of their region. See the full prize split below:
 

  • 1st - 40,000,000 KRW

  • 2nd - 15,000,000 KRW

  • 3rd-4th - 7,500,000 KRW

  • 5th-8th - 4,500,000 KRW

  • 9th-16th - 2,500,000 KRW

 

The tournament will be played on a mix of GSL and WCS maps: Newkirk Precinct, Whirlwind, Ascension to Aiur, Odyssey, Abyssal Reef, Mech Depot, Acolyte


We’ve still got a few surprises up our sleeves, so make sure to keep your eyes on wcs.StarCraft2.com, and our StarCraft Esports Twitter.