WCS Montreal Survival Guide

  • Blizzard Entertainment

Event Summary

The next WCS Circuit event begins this Friday as StarCraft II returns to DreamHack Montreal!

The event will take place starting on Friday September 8th PDT, and is set to conclude on Sunday. Two group stages will allow the 64 initial competitors to battle their way down to just 16, where they will then face off against in the Third Group Stage against the 16 players who qualified for the event via WCS Challenger. The 16 players who make it out of that stage will move onto the playoffs where great prizes of cash and WCS points await.

This event boasts a total prize pool of $100,000, with the winner taking home $25,000 and a direct seed into the WCS Global Finals. Check out the details below to get prepared for the event, and follow @EsportStarcraft this weekend for peeks behind the scenes!

Event Details

 

Organizer

Blizzard & DreamHack

Location

Place Bonaventure 

800 De La Gauchetière St. W. #240, Montreal, QC H5A 1K6, Canada

Broadcast Schedule

Friday, September 8

  • EDT: 3:00 p.m.
  • PDT: 12:00 p.m.
  • BST: 8:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 9:00 p.m.
  • KST: 4:00 a.m. (+1) 

Saturday, September 9

  • EDT: 11:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 8:00 a.m.
  • BST: 4:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 5:00 p.m.
  • KST: 12:00 a.m. (+1) 

Sunday, September 10

  • EDT: 11:00 a.m.
  • PDT: 8:00 a.m.
  • BST: 4:00 p.m.
  • CEST: 5:00 p.m.
  • KST: 12:00 a.m. (+1) 

Streams

Talent

  • Commentator: Geoff 'iNcontroL' Robinson
  • Commentator: Leigh 'Maynarde' Mandalov
  • Commentator: Jessica 'ZombieGrub' Zombiegrub
  • Stage Host: *James "Mal" Song
  • Desk Host: James 'Kaelaris' Carrol
  • Commentator: Kevin ‘RotterdaM’ van der Kooi
  • Commentator: Nathaniel 'Nathanias' Fabrikant
  • Commentator: Yoan ‘ToD’ Merlo

Format & Prizing

Total Prize Pool: $100,000 USD & 11,000 WCS Points

1st place: $25,000 USD, 3,000 WCS Points, and a direct seed to the WCS Global Finals.

2nd place: $10,000 USD & 1,400 WCS Points

3rd – 4th place: $6,500 USD & 900 WCS Points

5th – 8th place: $4,000 USD & 600 WCS Points

9th – 16th place: $2,500 USD & 300 WCS Points

17th – 32nd place: $1,000 USD

Where to Discuss

Join in on the conversation about these games here!

More Information

Visit the new WCS Website for information on this tournament and others, or to learn more about competitive StarCraft II!