Pick the Players at GSL vs. The World

  • Blizzard Entertainment

The GSL vs. The World tournament takes center stage beginning August 2 and it should be the biggest gathering of elite StarCraft II talent outside of the WCS Global Finals at BlizzCon with $100,000 on the line.

Once again, you get to participate by voting in the competitors.

The GSL and “The World” teams will consist of eight players each, with proven 2018 champions and top WCS Point-earners rounding out the field of candidates eligible for selection. Head to Team Liquid for a full rundown of the eligible players, their cases for making their respective teams, and the formal voting.

Fans will be selecting three of the players—one for each of the three races—for “The World” team and four of the eight players—one for each race and a “wild card”—for the GSL team. The team for The World will also have an invited player from China, Huang “Cyan” Min. The rest of each side will feature some of the household names from the WCS:

Invited GSL Players

  • Cho “Maru” Seong Ju
  • Lee “Rogue” Byung Ryul
  • Kim “Classic” Doh Woo  
  • Kim “Stats” Dae Yeob

Invited “The World” Players

  • Joona “Serral” Sotala
  • Juan Carlos “SpeCial” Tena Lopez
  • Alex “Neeb” Sunderhaft
  • Tobias “ShoWTimE” Sieber
  • Huang “Cyan” Min

Beginning August 2, GSL vs. The World will showcase the individual competition, with 16 players in a knockout bracket, and the best-of-nine team vs. team exhibition. The whole event will be available on the following streaming channels:

The fan vote runs through 12:00 p.m. PDT on July 17 with real-time results at Team Liquid. Choose from top names in the WCS like INnoVation, Elazer, and Snute, all hoping for a chance to represent their half of the WCS at the last top-tier event before we get to BlizzCon.